(09) 237 8228 021 710 610 willem.eca@xtra.co.nz 131 Dominion Road Tuakau

Cambridge Curriculum:

Cambridge Assessment International Education:

Eden Christian Academy follows the Cambridge Pathway presenting opportunities for students in a range of qualifications recognised and respected world-wide.

Why the Cambridge Pathway?

  • The Cambridge Pathway meets our standards and NZQA qualifications
  • Our Christian perspective can be maintained within the Cambridge Pathway.
  • The Cambridge Pathway is recognised all over the world.
  • It is trustworthy and external-exam based.
  • It is structured around a challenging, quality curriculum that fits our aims.
  • It is flexible, meeting the needs of both vocational and academic students.
Cambridge Logo 2
ACSNZ Logo Edited

Primary School – Years 1 to 6 (5 – 11 Years)

We follow the Cambridge Primary Programme in Years 1 – 6 preparing students well for Secondary Education.

Cambridge Primary Checkpoint offers feedback on learners’ strengths and weaknesses in the key curriculum areas of English, Mathematics and Science. The tests are marked by the University of Cambridge and provide schools with an external international benchmark for learner performance.

The feedback gained from Cambridge Primary Checkpoint is an invaluable source of information for learners, parents and teachers. Learners and parents will have a transferable indication of academic progress and achievement. Schools will be able to make strategic decisions, drawing upon a pool of information and specialist reports built into Cambridge Primary Checkpoint.

Other subjects in the Primary years include Art, Bible Study, Chinese, German Geography, History, Information and Communication Technology, Physical Education, Music, Technology and Te Reo Maori.


Intermediate and Junior Secondary Levels – Years 7 to 9 (11 – 14 Years)

We follow the Cambridge Lower Secondary Curriculum in all Year 7 to 9 core subjects:

  • English,
  • Mathematics
  • Science (Physics, Chemistry and Biology)


Other subjects include:

  • Accounting/Business Studies/Financial Literacy
  • Art
  • Chinese
  • German
  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Leadership Development
  • Physical Education
  • Social Studies
  • Technology
Eden Christian Academy Students 9

Examinations are introduced in Year 7 and 8.


Students sit the Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint Assessment at the end of Year 9, which includes English, Mathematics and Science.

Students already start with the Cambridge Upper Secondary  (IGCSE) qualification in Year 10, thus doing it over 2 years.

Secondary Levels – Years 10 to 13

Year 10 & 11:

Cambridge Upper Secondary (IGCSE) is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 – 16 year olds. At the end of Cambridge Upper Secondary, learners gain Cambridge IGCSE qualifications recognized by universities and employers worldwide as equivalent to the UK General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE).


Compulsory subjects include:

  • English Language
  • Mathematics (Core or Extended)


Students select three optional subjects from those available for the year.


  • Accounting
  • Art & Design
  • Biology
  • Business Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Classical Studies
  • Geography
  • History
  • Information & Communication Technology
  • Physics
  • Psychology
  • Sociology

Year 12:

Cambridge Advanced, typically for 16 – 19 year olds, helps learners to develop deep understanding and independent and critical thinking skills which universities value highly. It builds on the foundations of Cambridge  Upper Secondary and leads to entry to universities worldwide.


Compulsory subjects include:

  • English Language


Students select three optional subjects from either Year 11 or Year 12 subject lists available for the year.

  • Accounting
  • Art and Design
  • Biology
  • Business Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Classical Studies
  • Geography
  • History
  • Information & Communication Technology
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Psychology
  • Sociology

Year 13:

Compulsory: NIL

Optional subjects include four subjects selected from the Year 11, 12 and 13 list.

Course Planning:

IGCSE, AS and A Level must be seen as part of a single qualification system. Thus courses at Year 12 and Year 13 are likely to contain a mixture of qualification levels. As a guide, students should achieve the following grades to progress to a higher level:

To study a Subject at

Level of attainment required

AS Level

IGCSE Grade of A, B or C

D may be possible in some subjects

A Level

AS Grade of A, B, C or D

E may be possible in some subjects

Expected Courses:



Year 11

Expected to be all IGCSE subjects. Students will take

a maximum of 5 subjects.

Year 12

Expected to be mostly AS Subjects with some IGCSE

subjects. Students will take a maximum of 4 subjects;

some will take additional IGCSE subjects and fewer

AS subjects.

Year 13

Expected to be mostly a combination of AS and A2

subjects. Students will take a maximum of 4

subjects. A few students may take 4 A2 subjects but

most will take a combination of A2 and AS subjects.


NZ Cambridge UE tariffs (NZ CUET) are shown below.  In addition to meeting a general academic standard, all students need to meet specified standards in numeracy and literacy.

Entrance Standard

Cambridge International Examinations

General Standard

Minimum of 120 points from A or AS Levels and a

minimum grade of D in at least 3 subjects equivalent

to those on the approved list.

Numeracy Standard

Minimum of grade D in IGCSE Mathematics.

Literacy Standard

Minimum of grade E in any AS English subject.


Points are determined as per the following table:


Mark Range

A Level

AS Level


80 – 100




70 – 79




60 – 69




50 – 59




40 – 49